• Alex Harel

    President and CEO

    Alex Harel holds a BA degree in Science and Economics and MA degree in Labor Studies. He served for 21 years in the Israeli Air Force (IAF) as a fighter navigator, squadron commander and other senior tasks (retired as Lieutenant Colonel). Alex Harel was one of the pioneers of TQM in the IAF, and he is involved in founding and managing several start-up companies in Israel, including BBMS.
  • Prof. Kenneth J. Dormer

    Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board

    B.S. Cornell University- Biology; M.S., PhD UCLA- Neurophysiology; Univ. Texas- Post-Doctoral Fellow in Cardiovascular Neurophysiology; Professor of Physiology, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center; Professor & Chair, Integrative Physiology & Pharmacology College of Osteopathic Medicine, Liberty University, VA. Member, Oklahoma Center for Neurosciences. Originator, Oklahoma Nanotechnology Initiative and Southwest Nanotechnology Consortium (OK, TX, NM, AZ, CO). Dr. Dormer is a member of the NIH Special Emphasis Panel/Scientific Review Group for Nanotechnology. He was a Nominee for National Science Advisor to President George H.W. Bush; Oklahoma Inventor of the Year, 1987.
  • Gilla Kaplan, PhD


    Gilla Kaplan received her BSc from the Hebrew University in Jerusalem Israel, and her MSc and PhD from Tromso University Norway. Ms. Kaplan is currently the Director of the TB program of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Previously, she held academic positions in immunology and microbiology research at the Rockefeller University and the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. Gilla received the Foundation of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey Award for Excellence in Research, and the Celgene Corporation Joshua Lederberg Society Award. She has been a member of the board of Celgene Co. since 1998, and has served on various academic committees, boards, grants review panels and advisory boards including the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Global Health, Scientific Advisory Committee. She has published over 300 academic papers.
  • Isaac Rutel, Ph.D., DABR

    Investigator and Member of the Advisory Board

    Dr. Rutel trained and worked at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory in Tallahassee, Florida; spending time in both fundamental and applied condensed matter physics/applied magnet research groups. Moving beyond fundamental physic research, he has enhanced his experience and education by also becoming a board certified Diagnostic Medical Physicist where he is able to apply his skills to the area of biomedical/biophysics research and technology.
  • Prof. Benjamin J. Scherlag, Ph.D.

    AF Investigator and Member of the Advisory Board

    Dr. Scherlag is Professor of Medicine/Cardiology at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center. Prof. Scherlag has earned the distinction of being named a George Lynn Cross Research Professor and Helen Webster Professor of Cardiac Arrhythmias for his dedication to medicine and research. He was the first person to consistently record atrial ventricular bundle (“His bundle”) potentials, which served as one of the cornerstones of present day clinical electrophysiology. Because of his early discoveries and contribution to the field, Dr. Scherlag is an internationally renowned expert in cardiac electrophysiology.
  • Prof. Sunny Po, M.D., Ph.D.

    Chief AF Investigator and Member of the Advisory Board

    Dr. Po is the Director of Clinical Electrophysiology at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center and Associate Director of the Heart Rhythm Institute at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center. His main research fields are mechanisms for cardiac arrhythmia and the roles of autonomic nervous system in cardiac arrhythmia. He has been awarded research grants from the National Institutes of Health, American Heart Association and other industrial sponsors. Prof. Po received the Provost’s Research Award for Junior Faculty in 2006 from the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center.